ActiveMSers Forums  

Go Back   ActiveMSers Forums > ActiveMSers.org Forums > General

Old 12-01-2010, 06:24 PM
Dave @ ActiveMSers

Default "At least you don't have cancer" and other odd things people say when you have MS

The topic of my latest blog is all about the silly things folks say when they hear you have MS, especially when you are just diagnosed. Sometimes people don't use their brains.

http://activemsers.blogspot.com/2013...ve-cancer.html

These are just my experiences. What about you guys? Include the good, the bad, and the "you've got to be kidding me."
Old 12-05-2010, 08:43 PM
Optimistic Misfit

Default jacqueline du pre

Least favorite response: They tell me about Jacqueline du Pre, a famous cellist who had a very visible, quickly-advancing progressive form of the disease. I'm a working musician - piano, organ, choir direction - and so far the hand coordination is still ok, but getting down the choir loft steps can be dicey, and sometimes I need to ask someone else to read Latin lyrics to the choir.

My neurologist says the occasional tingling and cramps could be overuse - don't blame MS for everything - and it is counterproductive to wonder whether a little awkwardness early in the morning means "this is it." Winter is better, of course.
Old 12-08-2010, 06:10 PM
Senior Misfit

Once people know I have MS they feel obligated to let me know that they know someone, are related to someone or heard about someone who has it. But in their knowing this person they are suddenly an expert and go into the whole "have you tried..." shpeal Umm no I haven't and I'm happy with the therapy I'm on thank you.
And when they say "I'm sorry" after hearing the news and get all awkward I just tell them "nothing to be sorry for, this is how it is and I'm getting by" It usually eases the awkwardness a little.
Old 12-27-2010, 06:03 PM
Junior Optimistic Misfit

Default stupid things people say