Gilenya and VO2max, exercise tolerance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gilenya and VO2max, exercise tolerance

In mid-December I started Gilenya. The 6 hour observation went well- about a 6 point drop in my heart rate- from 60 to 54.
    In November cycling season was over (my main sport) so I started a fairly aggresssive weight lifting program to gain strength over the winter. I continued some cardio, but didn't focus on this.
    Fast forward to February. I started riding the bike on the trainer, but noticed that I was very short of breath at a lower heart rate than usual. I can pretty much tell what my heart rate is by how I feel and how I am breathing. Not now! Thinking I am a wimp and just need to be back in shape I train hard but find that I am very short of breath and can not get my heart rate up to my usual range no matter how hard I try.
    So, at the end of February, I see my exercise physiologist who is also a cyclist. He puts me on a trainer to figure out my exercise zones and my lactate threshold. My VO2 max has fallen by 20% and my max heart rate is 10 points lower.
    My neurologist has checked around and he hasn't found any information stating that this may be an issue. Cardiac conduction is affected by the drug, so this may part of the problem. He thinks there are so few very active MSers on the drug that there will be no data.
    Has anyone else experienced decrease in exercise tolerance or decreased max heart rate?

Pell
    Last edited by pawpaw; 04-01-2011, 04:13 PM.

I've been on Gilenya for just over a month. No problems yet, but I'm not a serious athlete either. I know that shortness of breath shows up as one of the potential side effects:

http://www.pharma.us.novartis.com/pr...ilenya_pmg.pdf

Comment