leg control help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• leg control help?

For those of you who haven't read my early posts, I was diagnosed last October after a massive relapse that left my right leg less than cooperative. My background is in martial arts, in which I still continue to train.

I have worked very hard to get my stances and transitions back to an acceptable level, allowing for an extra step or slight modification here or there. The problem is my kicking.

The main problem isn't even the fact that my leg seems a lot heavier. I just pretend I have leg weights on. The problem is getting the part from my knee down to form and do the kicks. It's like that part of my leg is made of a really heavy, wobbly mass of jello that refuses to do what I tell it even in a borderline acceptable form.

Any suggestions/exercises that you have to help get some sort of control and resemblance of an actual kick would be appreciated. I'm not looking for perfect or even the same level of skill has I'm used to having. At this point, I'm just looking for a halfway pretty and effective technique.

Thanks in advance.

be well,
    Lisa

Lisa, I imagine most of us are familiar with the frustration. I would think your best bet is a physical therapist or, if you can find one, a sports physiologist. The last sports physiologist I saw recommended heavy weight training, as in using low reps of the heaviest weights I could push. He thought it stimulated more of the nervous system thereby aiding the brains natural plasticity to overcome the weakness. I did try that with leg strength but wouldn't say the results, although noticeable, were exactly day and night. I've had to take a break recently but I will eventually continue that training.

Don't give up, neural damage is tough and can take quite a long time to show any kind of improvement.

Comment

Hi Lisa,