Cognitive function update

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cognitive function update

I've never had bad cog fog, something I'm quite appreciative of. I know it can extremely challenging and frustrating. That said, in the months preceding the SCT (late 2009, early 2010) my brain was a bit fuzzy. It was challenging to follow a movie from start to finish with all the plot twists. Words escaped my brain--words I should have known. I was more forgetful. My normal wittiness was dulled. You know, that sort of thing. Nothing dramatic, just seeping brain drain.

Anyway, on my official clinical trial test (PASAT) I'd been steadily getting better. For the baseline, I missed 10+, month 6 I missed 6, year 1 had 3 misses and year 2 just 1, or statistically in the margin of error for perfect.

A couple months ago I started playing Lumosity, that brain game website. According to my score, after a slow start I now rank in the 86th percentile for my age group (40-44) and my best area of testing is in, of all things, memory. Which means now I can't grouse about my brain to my wife nor use my MS when I forget something.

Why is my brain working so decently? Natural recovery from SCT? Training on the computer? Fluke? All of the above? Dunno, but I'll take it.
    Dave Bexfield
    ActiveMSers

I'll soon have to stop playing Lumosity. I'm now at 88%, which is a total anomaly and certainly a computer glitch. That means if I keep on playing, my score will inevitably drop and I will be officially dumber (according to my computer). Krikey, the pressure. It is supposed to be fun, not stressful.
    Dave Bexfield
    ActiveMSers

Comment

I'm now at 92% for my age group. With 25 million Lumosity users, that surprises me. And I still enjoy playing the games as they continue to be challenging. I'll be writing them to discuss my results. This may be helpful to us MSers....
      Dave Bexfield
      ActiveMSers

Comment

Ah, shit Dave!