Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to break into wheelchair racing

Hello all,

I have been strugiling with MS since 1994 and have been in a wheelchair permantly since June of last year. I competed in the PF Chang's Split Half maraton with my son this past January. I was a member of the MS Rockstars team. We did very well dispite me getting stuck on the bus at the split gate for 15 minuits. The wheelchair lift broke while I was on the lift half way down. I competed in a stripped down hospital chair that weighed 40 lbs. I am starting gather the funds to purchase a specialized racing chair. I plan to compete with the AZDS in track events ranging from 100 to 10,000 m. I also plan on partisipating in half, and full maratons in the wheelchair division. I would love to get to a point that I can compete in triatholons.

I am aplying for a few grants to offset some of the cost. I have a few other fundraising ideas in play but it will take some time to raise the funds. I am looking into renting a chair so I can train untill the custom one can be made. This may by dificult since the chairs are custom made to fit that individual person. I will continue with my regular workout for now.

I will keep everone up to date as to the progress of my mission. Thanks for your time.